Thought Bubbles

Shallow but deep!

Recently, I started taking a photography class and I decided to share some of my pictures on my blog!

The assignment was to  create 4  – 8 portraits that employ a shallow depth of field. But the goal was not simply to use a short focal range and blur the background of your image. The goal of this assignment was to tell a story in each image – compose the shot in a way that reveals something about the person photographed. And to pay attention to the point of focus, pose, facial expression, clothing, and any props. Each element should (hopefully) contain visual clues that reveal personality and character.

Here are my pictures:

 

This photograph is a close up picture of Oliver’s nose. He always likes to sniff to check for treats when I come to ride him. This picture is Oliver in a nutshell – he is super sweet, kind of nosey, and the best horse ever!

 

This picture is of my friend Kate smiling in the sun. She is super kind, nice, and she always makes me laugh! I feel like this picture captures all those things about her.

 

In most of my posts, I talk about Daphne’s anxiety and not about how sweet and loving she is. I thought this picture shows another side of Daphne who is not so anxious all the time.

 

I caught this little squirrel in action stealing one of our strawberries!

 

I think this is one of my favorite pictures of Patch, because you can tell that he is more than just a cute face.

Next Post

Previous Post

5 Comments

  1. Kurt October 21, 2018

    These are really terrific – very proud of you. Hard to pick a favorite here. The pictures of Cate and Oliver stand out to me.

  2. natalie dente October 21, 2018

    Hi Anna long time between blogs But well worth it The pictures are super All have captured the essence of the feelings you wanted to portray My favorite is the squirrel pic this strawberry is mine and I intend to enjoy it to the fullest keep up the good work love Grandma Natalie

  3. Uncle Angelo October 21, 2018

    I like Oliver! that’s a great nose. nice pictures Anna. Angelo

  4. Donna October 22, 2018

    Love these pictures. The squirrel captured in stillness. Oliver’s “ollieness”. Kate — just as you describe her. Lovely.

  5. Aunt Debbie October 25, 2018

    Hi Anna,
    Great pictures! I really love the one of Patch. How did you get him to be still long enough to snap the shot? You are inspiring me to get my real camera out again. Thanks!!
    xo Aunt D

Leave a Reply

© 2024 Thought Bubbles

Theme by Anders Norén

Subscribe By Email

Get a weekly email of all new posts.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Skip to toolbar